Back to RILA:   Home | Join | Advocacy | News | Bulletin | Contact | My Account

A Section of the Rhode Island Library Association

SLRI Awards - Mini Grants

Mini Grant

The Mini Grant is awarded to make possible a future project that seeks to support student learning, improve a school library collection or program, and enhance the library and/or subject area curriculum.  

Who is eligible for this award? Any current SLRI member in good standing (current SLRI Executive Board members--officers, immediate past president, standing committee chairs, members-at-large--are not eligible for this award)

Who may submit a proposal application for this award? This is a self-nomination application process; any SLRI member in good standing may submit an application.

When will the award be announced? At the RILA Annual Conference in May 2019

What form does the award take? One grant of $750 will be awarded

Submission Guidelines: 

  • The 2019 submission deadline has passed
  • Descriptions of the winning entry may be posted to the SLRI website
  • Incomplete, illegible, or late entries will be disqualified
  • The proposed project may take any form but must support student learning, improve a school library collection or program, and enhance the library and/or subject area curriculum. The proposed project cannot yet have been implemented and must be intended for a future date 
  • At least 3 readers will review each application using the attached rubric
  • The award recipient may be asked to present at a future SLRI program or conference
  • The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence as defined by the criteria and rubric posted above; SLRI reserves the right to withhold the award if submissions do not meet these requirements

Any questions about this award or about the application process may be emailed to with “Mini Grant” in the subject line. 

Please note that award eligibility, application, selection, and submission criteria may be changed at the discretion of the SLRI Awards Chair and/or the SLRI Executive Board.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2019-Cynthia Alexandre, Pawtucket; Heidi Balis, Cranston
  • 2017-Susan Murphy, Coventry
  • 2016-Deirdre Carlino, South Kingstown
  • 2013-Suzanne Jordan, East Providence
  • 2012-Laura Cabral, Bristol-Warren
  • 2011-Susan Rose, Cranston
  • 2010-Jennifer Thomas, Bishop Stang
  • 2009-Mary Moen, Chariho
  • 2008-Michelle Steever and Holly Barton, Chariho
  • 2006-Donna Good, Narragansett High School

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software